“Dancing is a vertical expression of a horizontal desire” ― Robert Frost

Dance is a beautiful thing. It may be a matter of opinion but I find it much more pretty than football or other sports, which sets this action post aside from others I have posted before.

https://lizziegphotography.wordpress.com/2012/10/18/harker-heights-vs-belton-football-game-2012/

https://lizziegphotography.wordpress.com/2012/11/26/get-your-game-face-on/

I have never shot dance before this day but there was a competition in the area and I found it to be a great opportunity to advance my portfolio. The major difference I found between shooting football and dance is that dance is less hectic. You don’t have to run up and down a long distance or worry about being trampled by someone twice your size.
IMG_8171

The thing I noticed when I got there was the photographer(s) in the audience. I knew they weren’t parents because the announcer would ask in between that if you wanted your child’s pictures to be taken to talk to that particular photography company. We both used the same camera and the same lens but the difference between us was that I was up front and moving around and they were sitting in the middle of the audience.

IMG_8172

I like the way these pictures turned out. I don’t think you can really compare them with my football posts because they are completely different. In my football posts you will see players blocking others, their faces are hid by their masks but you can really see the action. Dance is kind of the opposite. You can really see emotion and focus in their faces. Aside from duets you have nothing getting in the way of the person you are trying to photograph. Although you may see the dancers being still they are in fact moving, just not as quick as football players. But even though its slower a quick move of the hand or a jump can cause a slight blur.

IMG_8197

IMG_8221

IMG_8225

IMG_8235

IMG_8240

IMG_8246

For editing I really didn’t have to do much. I adjusted the levels on most and removed some objects that may have been visible backstage from behind the curtain. In the following image I had to close the right eye of the girl just slightly. For this I used liquify and pulled it down just a hair.

IMG_8254

I liked the way the floor reflected the bodies of the dancers. You can’t get this with a football field.  The floor itself was nice but I appreciated how it lit up her face from where it was tucked.

IMG_8259

IMG_8267

IMG_8287

IMG_8288

IMG_8315

You could see a lot of emotion in the faces of the dancers. I found this girls emotions to be dramatic in a good way. Her music had stopped and so did she, but only for a second and she kept dancing till the music caught up with her. You don’t see a football player drop a ball and keep running for a touchdown. The audience cheered her on for her decision to keep going.

IMG_8325

IMG_8331

IMG_8350

IMG_8351

IMG_8353

IMG_8457

IMG_8496

IMG_8513

IMG_8588

Capturing pain is a hard thing to do, which is why I’m glad the dancers are capable of moving the way they do without snapping. If a football players did these maneuvers on the field it would be man down.

IMG_8599

IMG_8603

IMG_8608

IMG_8621

IMG_8632

IMG_8633

IMG_8636

IMG_8641

IMG_8653

IMG_8662

IMG_8667

IMG_8683

IMG_8717

IMG_8746

IMG_8764

From big  to small every dancer was different. Above is a more dramatic dance and below is a more humorous and cute dance.

IMG_8780

IMG_8784

IMG_8797

IMG_8802

IMG_8820

IMG_8821

At the start of a play and the end of a play you may here cheers from an audience. At a competition for dance consisting of mostly young girls its not cheers you hear, its high pitch squeals and screams. But just like every other sport their teammates and peers support them in their performance.

IMG_8830

IMG_8834

IMG_8876

IMG_8896

For this competition I watched the dances through the lens and shot at appropriate times. The settings were as followed

f/2.8 – SS1/320 – iso800

IMG_8913

IMG_8953

IMG_8958

IMG_8972

Dance is definitely something I would be interested in shooting again. This was a great opportunity.

IMG_8987

IMG_8988

IMG_8995

IMG_9001

IMG_9021

2 responses to ““Dancing is a vertical expression of a horizontal desire” ― Robert Frost

  1. Pingback: Links for BTB | Smallwood Photo Class

Leave a Reply

